Uncategorized

Life goes on…..

The last blog post was basically admitting that the cabinet project took much longer than expected…..well since that post we’ve completed that project! A project that should have only taken a month or less, took me a month plus another 4-5 to complete! While I would love to show the final results of the cabinets, I would prefer to wait yet another few months until we have our counter tops and back splash completed as well.

So after several months of painting and sanding, I had 3 cabinet doors to complete, only to paint the primer on to realize there was a wood stain that coming through! I was concerned at first, but thought that since the actual paint was also a primer, I figured that should cover it up…..I was wrong. After 2-3 coats of additional paint the stain continued to come up. I was so close to finishing….but yet so far away.

Mid summer I decided to strip the 3 doors to start from scratch. Stripping paint is such a messy project, but it was necessary in this case. I found a different primer, that supposedly worked even better than Kiltz, to cover up those darn stains. I highly recommend B.I.N for any priming needed to be done for any projects.

One simple coat of this new primer and the stains were kept at bay! I was elated to finally be moving forward again! (Mind you, I was so upset by the setback that I took a couple months off from this project)

About a month after completing this home project, the unthinkable happened. My four year old son decided that my floor, counter tops and yes, my freshly painted cabinets, needed a makeover……with red crayon, and not the washable kind mind you. You can imagine my horror.

20151108_141643 20151108_141652

The above image, on the top, is only one of the several cabinets and drawers that were “made beautiful”.

So what do I do now? How do you clean regular old crayon off your white painted cabinets? The regular cleaner I use wasn’t effective, it only smudged it around. So I went online and had found some recommendations to try Lemon essential oil. Huh, I love using natural stuff and happened to have a nearly full bottle, so why not? I took a few drops on my finger and rubbed some on the artwork…..and it came off! I then got to work on all of my cabinets using a cotton ball. Here is the progression of the effectiveness of cleaning…..

20151108_141643 20151108_142443 20151108_142948

**One disclaimer I will say about using Lemon oil-yes, it works-but I did notice it took off a minuscule amount of paint with the crayon when I was cleaning. I cannot see it in the finish, thankfully, but this is something you want to be aware of.

Since the winter weather is upon us, I will hopefully be adding more entries in the upcoming weeks/months. I have sewed a few different projects that I want to share.

20151108_143029

Leave a comment